Is Texas Part of the Midwest? Detailed US State Positions

Is Texas Part of the Midwest

According to the US Census Bureau Data, there are 12 states in the United States that are in the Midwest, and Texas isn’t one of them. Texas is in the Southwest part, along with Arizona, Oklahoma, and New Mexico. Although, many argue that Texas is actually a part of the Midwest.

The US States and Their Positions


The 12 states that are part of the Midwest are as follows-

Michigan, Illinois, Ohio, Lowa, Minnesota, Indiana, Wisconsin, Kansas, South Dakota, Nebraska, Missouri, and North Dakota. It is according to the data by the US Census Bureau. Among them, the largest cities are Chicago, Columbus, and Indianapolis.


The southwestern USA covers two states totally and six others partially. They are Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Colorado, Utah, California, Nevada, and Oklahoma. Major cities within this southwest are Phoenix in Arizona, Las Vegas in Nevada, El Paso in Texas, and Albuquerque in New Mexico.


Five states make up the northwestern United States. They are Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Wyoming, and Washington. Meanwhile, many people also consider Southeast Alaska part of the Northwestern regions. It is divided into the Pacific and Inland Northwest. Seattle, Spokane, Bellevue, and Tacoma are notable cities from here.


The southeastern United States is consists of 12 states in total- Florida, Alabama, Arkansas, Mississippi, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky, Louisiana, Puerto Rico, and the United States Virgin Islands. The total area of the Southeast USA is 580,835 sq mi.


With a 181,324 sq mi area, the northeastern USA contains New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, Vermont, Maine, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, and Maryland. According to the US Census 2020, it has a population of 57,609,148. The Northeast USA has vivid cultures and is mostly falls in Appalachian Highlands.


The Mid-Atlantic States are New Jersey, New York, Delaware, Washington, D.C, Maryland, and Pennsylvania. Some people also include Connecticut as part of the region because of its climate.

Mid-Atlantic is like an overlap between Southeast and Northeast USA. Baltimore, Buffalo, and Philadelphia are some of the peak metropolitan areas here.


The western states are California, Colorado, Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Washington, Alaska, Nevada, Oregon, New Mexico, Arizona, Utah, and Hawaii. It covers the westernmost part of the nation and has a land area of 1,751,053 sq mi. Its nominal GDP is $71,719 per capital as of 2019.

Final Note

The United States of America is geographically grouped by five original regions. They are the Midwest, Southwest, Southeast, West, and Northeast. People also added sub-groups like Mid-Atlantic or New England. All these regions have really different cultural, geographical, and natural differences.

Leave a Comment