To purchase a firearm in Texas, you need to bring your state-issued valid ID. Aside from that, you must be at least 21 years old to buy a handgun. We advise bringing your LTC if you have one.
Necessary Information Regarding Firearm Purchasing in Texas
One does not need a background check to buy a gun in Texas if they have an LTC. If you bring all the required items and are eligible, you can buy them without much time needed. Most sellers with an FFL in Texas will conduct a background check if you haven’t brought a license to carry.
The requirements to purchase a gun in Texas-
You must be at least 18 years old for a long gun or 21 for a handgun. You either must bring an LTC, or your background must be clean. Also, the one getting the firearm must be present, not their friend or anyone else.
Federal laws prohibit people from buying a firearm who has been convicted of a felony or any domestic violence misdemeanors. The same prohibition applies if the person is subjected to these offenses to specific court orders. One also cannot purchase a gun with a serious mental condition.
Do You Need a License to Carry a Gun in Texas?
Like many other states in the USA, you do not need a license to carry a firearm in person. You would need it before 2021, but it has changed now. You can possess both openly or conceal without a license.
Can I Carry a Firearm in My Vehicle in Texas?
Yes, you can carry a firearm in your vehicle in Texas, loaded and within reach. Albeit, it must be concealed. However, long guns are an exception, which doesn’t need concealment and can still be loaded and within reach.
Is It Illegal to Have an Unregistered Gun in Texas?
No. In fact, there is no firearm registration law in Texas. You must still check the federal laws since they still apply. But weapons that are machine guns, short-barreled shotguns, rifles, destructive devices, or silencers must still be registered.
What Happens If Your Gun Is Stolen in Texas?
If your gun gets stolen in Texas, we advise reporting to the cops. It is not mandatory to do so. However, if any crime happens with that gun and you haven’t reported it, you may face the consequences.
Before 2021, it was mandatory to obtain a license to carry a gun. But the rule has been removed now. Albeit, we still recommend you to have proper firearm training before purchasing one. Otherwise, it can be risky for others and yourself.